WINNERS ANNOUNCED IN ASIA AND PACIFIC STUDENT ESSAY COMPETITION

     Dear all,

     Let’s enjoy the announcement of winners for the ADB essay compition in this year.

     I am too glad to see a friend of mine, Mr. Heng Dyna, coming from my University here, Nagoya University.

     And too proud to see 3 winners are Cambodians student here on the above list. Ohh, my friends you really make our country proud of you.

     I hope to achieve such priceless achievement like you too, in the future.

     header1-right.gif

MANILA, PHILIPPINES – Twenty-six students from 16 ADB member economies have won prizes in a student essay competition on Sustainable Development in Asia and the Pacific. The competition was sponsored by ADB and ROAD, a network of Japanese university students concerned about development issues, through ADB’s Japan Special Fund, financed by the Government of Japan. It is part of a series of educational events that will precede ADB’s 40th Annual Meeting that is to be held in Kyoto, Japan, 6-7 May. The winners are:

  • Thinley Choden of Bhutan, University of Hawaii at Manoa, age 28
  • Chanprathna Leng of Cambodia, International University of Japan, age 27
  • Heng Dyna of Cambodia, Nagoya University, Japan, age 24
  • Rotha Chan of Cambodia, International University of Japan, age 26
  • Li Xing of the People’s Republic of China, China Agricultural University, age 19
  • Shana Khan of Fiji Islands, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand, age 27
  • Kavindra Nand ofFiji Islands, The University of the South Pacific, age 23
  • Leung Yih-Terng of Hong Kong, China;University of Hong Kong, age 22
  • Sreya Bagchi of India, Randolph-Macon Women’s College, Lynchburg, VA, US, age 18
  • Ramnath Kalyani of India, National Law School of India University Jawahar Shah of India, TERI University, age 21
  • Syaiful Afifi of Indonesia, Brawijaya University Malang, age 23
  • Terumi Ishii of Japan, The University of Tokyo, age 23
  • Akiko Iwamoto of Japan, Gakushuin University, age 22
  • Megumi Koba of Japan, International University of Kagoshima, age 22
  • MeeHyoe Koo of theRepublic of Korea, Ewha Women’s University, age 21
  • Elvira Bobekova ofKyrgyz Republic, The University of Auckland, New Zealand, age 29
  • Bayarlkham Byambaa of Mongolia, Akita International University, age 19
  • Tin Yadana Moe of Myanmar, Yangon Institute of Economics, age 23
  • Muniba Mahmud of Pakistan, Institute of Business Administration, age 21
  • Saba Majeed of Pakistan, Institute of Business Administration, age 23
  • Carl Renan Estrellan of Philippines, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, age 28
  • Ritchie-Anne Guzman of Philippines, Ateneo de Manila University, age 26
  • Charybel Magbuo of Philippines, De la Salle University, age 20
  • Fundow Jerasakanon of Thailand, Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, age 21
  • Le Hoang Anh Thu of Viet Nam, Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, age 25

A three-member independent jury reviewed each of the more than 600 essays submitted in the Asia and Pacific Student Essay Competition. Each essay is the independent work of the student and reflects their personal views. Jury members included Ashok Khosla, Chairman, Development Alternatives, New Delhi, India; and Erna Witoelar, United Nations Special Ambassador for MDGs in Asia and the Pacific, Jakarta, Indonesia. Tseuneaki Yoshida, Professor, Project Planning and Management, University of Tokyo, chaired the jury. “This competition has provided the opportunity for hundreds of university students to contribute their views on major public policy issues challenging Asia and the Pacific,” says Bindu N. Lohani, Director General of ADB’s Regional and Sustainable Development Department. “The upcoming Youth Forum in Kyoto will provide an exciting opportunity for the winning essayists to deliberate development priorities and ways in which the region’s environmental, economic, and social challenges can be effectively addressed with the active involvement of young people.” All 26 winners are being invited to participate in a week-long program culminating in the Youth Forum on Sustainable Development in Kyoto on 17 March. The Forum will provide winning essayists with the opportunity to deliberate on sustainable development issues. The event will conclude with adoption of “the Voice of the Youth,” a statement written by the students on sustainable development. In addition, the winning essays will be assembled and published in a book. The essays – written from a country or regional perspective – addressed one of three specific topics: economic growth and environmental conservation; human resource development and institutions; and industry and infrastructure. They were judged on the basis of originality and creativity of thought, structure and coherence of arguments, awareness of sustainable development within the context of the essayist’s environment and realities, and relevance to the competition’s themes. About ADB

© 2007 Asian Development Bank

6 thoughts on “WINNERS ANNOUNCED IN ASIA AND PACIFIC STUDENT ESSAY COMPETITION

  1. Actually, I love this ADB projects up to now. So I do hope it will be once more.
    I will participate it in my astonishment so that I can open my hearty words on my further study in social sciences via my next.
    I feel graceful to all of essayists in my heart to our society in Asia Pacific Pacific Development Forum.
    Please inform me about there events if so possible.
    Hla Myo Naing
    (Pinlebu, Myanmar)

  2. “My Father”
    (My Birthday Present To My Father ‘Passed away’)

    I should love My father,
    The breast in which I Live:
    Yes, I am very sure My6 heart,
    Its truest love ought to give!

    If I love My Father,
    I’ll try to be a man:
    He may be proud of,
    And if I attempt, I can!

    He wanted me IQ, brave and noble,
    He needed me EQ, true and kind:
    My father needed that I should be,
    The best man he could find!

    Oh… My father!
    In my education, his life’s invested via heart.
    Oh…My Future !
    My life will have to stick on his words.

    Oh… My father !
    In my needs, his energy’s lost.
    Oh… My Future !
    My try on our people will never stop.

    Remembering my father,
    Doing the right things:
    Studying for my further,
    It’ll nearly be seen.

    Calling such ‘Phae- Phae’
    Living ‘Mae-Mae’
    Including such lining things:
    May all be peaceful, healthy and happy.

    His best son……
    No Sea ( Pinlebu, 12.9.2008)

  3. We are the custom writing service providers.

    If you need to get an admission in a school, college or a university or require any help in any kind of assignment, so don’t get tensed. Student Home Work Relief is there to help you out.

    If you have your self written assignments, so we can rectify or re-write your
    Essays, research papers, thesis or term papers etc. for you absolutely free of charge.

    Our qualified writers are able to write any type of papers before the specified deadline.
    We are the only writing service providers in USA who offers the lowest
    rate for a custom writing service.

    We only assign the professionals to write the papers for you.
    All of our writers are PhDs and Master Degree Holders.

    Note :

    Please make sure to get rid of those fraud websites which do not have the
    genuine writers and that is why they would not even let you speak with the
    writers directly.

    For further details you can visit our website at
    http://www.studenthomeworkrelief.com or send us your details or concerns at
    contactus@studenthomeworkrelief.com

    You can call us at 1877 645 5679.

    Regards,

    Student Home Work Relief.

Leave a Reply

